Pax Autocratica

Pax Autocratica FAQ: Answers and Platform Details

Pax Autocratica release date, the $29.99 price, the free Prologue, language support, PC specs, and the questions the developer has not answered yet.

Updated Aug 16 · Last verified: 2026-08-16

Quick answers to what people actually search for. Everything here is traceable to Steam's own listings or the developer's announcements — where something has not been announced, this page says so rather than guessing. How we check is on Sources.

The game

What is Pax Autocratica?

A base-building action game with roguelite expeditions, by Multiverse. You run a totalitarian colony — assigning citizens, setting policies, pushing research — then personally lead squads into first-person battles for the resources that keep it running.

Is it turn-based?

No. The colony half runs in real time, and the combat half is a first-person roguelite. If you find a guide describing turns, tax rates or cabinet appointments, it is describing a different game.

Is it multiplayer or co-op?

Single-player. Steam lists Single-player as the only mode. We found no announcement about co-op or multiplayer in the developer's Steam posts. See Things with no official answer below.

What is the capture system everyone mentions?

Enemies can be worn down and taken alive using dedicated Capture Rounds, then held in a Prison you have to research before you can build. Prisoners feed your research. It is also the system the developer has publicly called "frustrating" and is actively reworking — see Capture and Prisoners.

Release and price

When did Pax Autocratica release?

August 10, 2026, into Steam Early Access.

How much does it cost?

$29.99 USD, with a 17% launch discount bringing it to $24.89. The discount is temporary. Full detail on Price and Demo.

Is Pax Autocratica free?

The full game is paid. There is a separate Pax Autocratica: Prologue on Steam, released December 1, 2025, which the store describes as a free stand-alone release and which carries no price.

Is there a demo?

Not any more. The demo was pulled when Early Access began, and its Steam entry no longer returns store data. See Price and Demo.

Will the price go up at 1.0?

Unannounced — see below.

Playing it

What languages does it support?

Simplified Chinese, English, French, German and Traditional Chinese. English is the only language with full audio; the others are text. Localization improvements shipped in the August 15 patch.

Does it support controllers?

Yes — Steam lists full controller support, including DualSense and DualShock pads. Works the same whether you use an Xbox, PlayStation or generic controller.

Does it use Steam Cloud?

Yes. Saves sync between PCs on the same Steam account. The game also added automatic local save backups on August 12, after crash-related save losses early in launch week — see Update History.

Are there mods or console commands?

Nothing announced. The game is not listed with Steam Workshop support, and we found no developer statement about mod tools, console commands or cheats.

Are there redeem codes?

No. There is no code entry in the game and the developer has never issued promotional codes. It is a one-time purchase with no live-service layer.

Can I share it through Family Sharing?

Steam lists the game as Family Sharing eligible.

Hardware

Can my PC run it?

The floor is 16 GB RAM and a GTX 1060 6 GB / RX 480 at 1080p. Note that 16 GB is the requirement at both minimum and recommended — that one is not negotiable. Full table on System Requirements.

Does it run on Steam Deck?

Playable, not Verified. It runs, but Valve flagged three issues — most importantly that some interface text is hard to read at the Deck's resolution, which matters for a game with this much menu work. See Platforms and Steam Deck.

Is there a Mac or Linux version?

No. Windows only.

Things with no official answer

These come up constantly in searches, and the honest answer to each is that the developer has not said. Not announced is not the same as no — we list them here rather than guessing in either direction.

Question Status as of 2026-08-16
When is 1.0? No date given
How long will Early Access last? Not stated
Will there be a PS5, Xbox or Switch version? Never mentioned in any announcement — see PS5, Xbox, Switch
Will co-op be added? No announcement found
Will the price change at 1.0? Not stated
Will a future update reset saves? No wipe announced, and none promised against
Will there be mod support? Not announced

If any of these gets answered, it will show up on the Steam news feed first. See Update History for how the developer publishes news.

About this page

How often is this page rechecked?

Every page on this wiki carries a Last verified date at the top, and gets rechecked when the developer patches. Patches have been landing every one to three days since launch.

Where do these answers come from?

Steam's store listing, Steam's own API, and the developer's announcements — each one dated. The full register is on Sources.

Something here is wrong

Trust your game over this wiki, then check the date at the top of the page. If it predates the newest Steam announcement, this page has not caught up yet.